Latest News

New Award Scheme is Launched

Date: 17/08/2005 | Posted by John Garton
A new award scheme is being launched by the Genuine Jersey Products Association to recognise the efforts of its membership and local retailers to promote the ‘Genuine Jersey’ brand.

Nominations are being sought for three awards, namely ‘Best New Genuine Jersey Product or Initiative’, ‘Member of the Year’ and ‘Genuine Jersey Retailer of the Year’. The first two awards are open to the Association’s membership, which now totals almost 60 local businesses. The third award is specifically for non-member businesses only.

Ken Syvret MBE, the Association’s chairman, says the decision to launch the award scheme reflects the success of Genuine Jersey over the past couple of years. “The Association has received tremendous support from its members, retailers and the general public. Islanders and businesses have really got behind the brand and what it represents, which is high quality products produced here in Jersey.”

The details of the awards are as follows:

  • Best New Genuine Jersey Product or Initiative

This is for a product or initiative introduced into the marketplace in the last 12 months which best exemplifies the ethos of Genuine Jersey.

  • Member of the Year

This is to recognise which member has done the most to promote and enhance the concept of Genuine Jersey through their product range, a promotion or related activity.

  • Genuine Jersey Retailer of the Year

This award is for the retailer at an individual location who has done the most to promote Genuine Jersey products by the use of advertising, in-store displays, point-of-sale or any other promotional tool. Nominations in this category are being sought from the public through the media, and also from GJPA members.

Judging will be the responsibility of a panel headed by GJPA chairman Ken Syvret MBE, and comprising Joy Thomson, of the Women’s Institute; Karen Le Cornu, of the Health Promotion Unit; Carl Walker, deputy news editor and consumer affairs correspondent of the Jersey Evening Post; and States Chief Trading Standards Officer Trevor Le Roux. The awards winners will be announced at a special function in November.

The closing date for nominations is Friday, 28th October 2005. Any member of the public who would like to make a nomination for the Retailer of the Year award should contact Peter Tabb on 735253 for further details.